Wild & Free

Sometimes I just need to escape. To explore. To leave the confines of what is known, and find something new. Often routine kicks in, and your ability to pack up and jet off to some exotic destination just isn’t a possibility, but there is still so much to see around you that  you have probably neglected to discover, whilst you dream about lying on that beach in the Caribbean. I guess what I’m trying to say is, try not to constantly focus on those huge trips that take you all around the world, when you might be missing out on some incredible beauty that’s right on your doorstep.

Take me for example. I split my time between uni (in Leamington Spa) and home (in East Sussex), and have recently started to go and explore the canals and public bridleways that I have been walking past, unknowingly, for years.


Leamington Spa

Leamington Spa is home to a huge number of hidden tracks, that you can loose yourself for hours on! Round the back of Warwick University, are a few different public bridleways that go on for hours and take you through some beautiful fields growing rapeseed. My boyfriend and I did this walk in both the day, and the night (and needless to say, got completely lost in the latter!)

Screenshot_2016-03-20-23-23-14-1

The canals in Leamington are also incredibly beautiful, and are long enough for you to walk as far as you wish, without ever coming to the end.


East Sussex

There are endless public bridleways in this area, and the scenery is so beautiful. I took my dog on one of these with me, and I think I can safely say he enjoyed himself…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


I guess after this whole post, all I’m trying to say is don’t take your immediate surroundings for granted. A huge, round the world trip, takes months of planning and saving – and in the meantime you might be missing out on just as beautiful places right in front of you!

Leave a Reply

